Wicca: A Guide for the Solitary Practitioner – A Primer

Well here we go,

Wicca, Wiccan, Solitary Practitioner, Scott Cunningham, Pagan, Magic, nature

Wicca A Guide for the Solitary Practitioner
by Scott Cunningham

I am about to embark on the journey into studying the book Wicca: A Guide for the Solitary Practitioner by Scott Cunningham. This is very exciting because my wife has decided to go on this adventure along with me. She has always considered herself of Pagan beliefs similar to the way the general public understands Wicca. But this has lead her to wonder how close to the Wiccan beliefs she really is.

So here’s the way I’m going to go about this journey. I am going to read the book and post my ideas on each chapter. While I am doing that I will also be posting on one of the leading Wiccan Community Forum, WitchVox.Com. I will also be looking for a few other community sites and/or forums that I can post to for questions. I intend on finding someone with a good amount of experience that will answer some questions about the religion and why it should be more appealing to someone versus another religion. Along with community sites and a one on one interview with someone with experience within the religion, I intend on locating related blogs that I can post questions on and come to a better understanding and with that a decision on the validity of Wicca.

Here are a few questions I already know I would like to answer:

  • Why Wicca over another religion?
  • How serious does a Wiccan take the concept of magic?
  • How do Wiccans feel their choice of religion stacks up against the “mainstream” of Christianity?
  • What is magic really? Is it real?
  • When was Wicca really established?
  • Does Wicca really have roots in ancient Druid culture?
  • Where is the best place for a Wiccan to practice their craft?
  • How do Wiccans like being called Witch/Warlock?
  • What is the general view on the author Scott Cunningham?

If there are more questions that you would like answered please feel free to leave them in the comments below and I will attempt to address them as I take on this task. I am expecting this to take approximately 2 weeks total, with about ten posts overall. If there are short chapters I will attempt to condense them, and obviously extra long chapters may be split into multiple posts.

So with that I thank you for reading this primer and I hope you enjoy.

– Derik

Preface, Intro, Chapter 1

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

