A bible passage I like a lot!

Ok,

So if you’re reading this at the time of posting you probably came to this blog from one of very few sources. One of such sources is a blog that I am constantly engaging in debate over the topics chosen to be posted about. This blog has some other people that enjoy debating with the writer, one of which is known as Steve by the writer of the blog, I like to refer to him by his chosen display name imnotandrei.

Now imnotandrei is constantly referring to a bible passage. At first I ignored it not thinking anything of it. I will be honest I have not read the bible in it’s entirety, which is something I intend on changing soon (a blog series in the making). But after a couple of times of him referring to it and the writer of the blog not responding to it I got curious and looked it up.

I liked what I found…


It reads:

“Thou hypocrite, first cast out the beam out of thine own eye;

and then shalt thou see clearly to cast out the mote out of thy brother’s eye.”

– King James Version Bible

This one seems kind of formal to me, I honestly prefer the World English Bible version.

“You hypocrite! First remove the beam out of your own eye,

and then you can see clearly to remove the speck out of your brother’s eye.”

This speaks volumes to me, it doesn’t say “God exists because this passage holds a kings ransom worth of meaning.” what it does say is that Christianity has a reference towards their response to hypocrisy. The issue is these days there is a ton of hypocrisy in all of the major religions, they want you to accept them while rejecting you.

Conversion does not come by force, or have we not learned that lesson from the past? Hello Hitler, hello King Henry II and Phillip II… the list goes on and they are not of only a single religion. But, religious and cultural conflict seems to be what spurs most of our histories wars. Maybe if these leaders had referred back to Matthew 7:5 and considered it prior to their actions maybe they would have considered a different outcome.

But we see hypocrisy even in everyday interaction with others. For instance often if we see someone that does not fit our social preference we will scoff or comment negatively about their appearance or demeanor. Yet if someone does the same to us we become offended and defensive of our freedoms and choices.

Many religions have a similar message to Matthew 7:5.

What is your favorite proverb, passage, phrase, reed or what ever you want to call it that relates to dealing with hypocrisy?

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Leon Maiolo on March 17, 2012 - 3:40 pm

    Thank you for your post. I was reminded of a scripture I enjoy.
    Romans2:3-4 3 And thinkest thou this, O man, that judgest them which do such things, and doest the same, that thou shalt escape the judgment of God?4Or despisest thou the riches of his goodness and forbearance and longsuffering; not knowing that the goodness of God leadeth thee to repentance?

    • #2 by Derik on March 17, 2012 - 3:52 pm

      That is a very good passage to help people understand that they should not pass judgment on people and should understand that it is not their job to judge. Though I must admit I am near perpetually on the fence as to whether there is a being that will place judgment upon me after I die. Can anyone truly account for a final judgment after death?

      I find it best to understand rather than judge, I don’t worry about whether someone will judge me tomorrow if I am willing to share my difference with others to better understanding why bother conforming to a concern of faith and submit to a judgment of a being that has no direct influence on my life?

Leave a Reply

